Board Meeting 3/10

Vision:  Redwood Community Radio envisions a community of listeners who, guided by the example of RCR programming, work together to create better, more just and sustainable world systems to ensure that all humans and other living species on earth move toward a higher quality of life and are able to survive challenges in the time ahead.

Mission Statement:  Redwood Community Radio will encourage a communication center of open airways (KMUD) for all voices to inform, educate, entertain and inspire the listening community through quality programming.

Ground Rules:  Speak respectfully to one another.  Focus on issues, not personalities.  Support the facilitator.  No interrupting.  Make criticism constructive, specific, substantiated and, ideally, when the person(s) are present.  When required, a five-minute break shall be granted to attendees to encourage peaceful communication.  Speakers during Open Time will be assigned an amount of time not to exceed five minutes. Any further discussions during the meeting will be between Board Members unless a guest is acknowledged by the Facilitator or is scheduled as part of the agenda.

DRAFT Proposed Agenda

Redwood Community Radio Board of Directors

March 10, 2021, 2:00 pm

Zoom® on-line meeting 

ID: 86766616874  Passcode: 207444    Phone number:16699009128

  1. Call to order, establishment of a quorum & selection of facilitator Opening comments from the President; meeting ground rules.
  1. Roll call

BOARD-APPOINTED REPS: Vice President behr, Secretary Rob Bier. Kim Phelps

MEMBER REPS:  Treasurer Sarah Scudder, Shira Brown, Holly Kreb

PROGRAMMER REPS:  President Jimmy Durchslag, Wendy Emerson, Chanin

STATION MANAGER:  Alyssa de Leon

  1. Approval of January and February minutes
  2. Approval of agenda
  3. Open time 
  4. Consent calendar
  1. Elections policy (Please see Attachment I.)
  2. Mediation Committee policy (Please see Attachment II.)
  1. Management report
  2. Finance Committee report
  3. Old business
  1. Hill Crazy podcast proposal
  2. Elections
  3. Station security and HAF grant
  4. New business
  1. All Sides Now policy (Please see Attachment III.)
  2. FEMA grant
  3. And so on
  4. Committee reports
  1. Programmer representatives
  2. Member representatives
  3. Community Advisory Board (CAB) – Siena Klein
  4. Correspondence Secretary – Chanin
  5. Development – Durchslag
  6. Membership Drive – behr
  7. Audit — Scudder
  8. Policy – Bier
  9. Mediation – Phelps
  10. Committee meeting schedule

All meetings take place on-line until further notice.  To attend, please contact Station Manager Alyssa de Leon.

Board of Directors    2nd Wednesday, 2:00 pm

Membership Drive    3rd Tuesday, 3:00 pm

Policy    4th Wednesday, 11:00 am

Executive    4th Wednesday, 12:00 pm

Audit    4th Tuesday, 11:00 am

Finance    4th Tuesday, 1:00 pm

Development    4th Tuesday, 3:00 pm

  1. Closed session – Personnel
  2. Adjournment


Attachment I

Elections policy

[New language is underlined.  Deleted language is lined-out.]

    1. Nomination Period

 5/26/10; 11/7/17

The nomination period is from the first day of the month in which before the annual meeting is held until the end of the third week of the following month following the annual meeting. (Bylaws Article V, Section 3).  This shall be announced on the air starting in the month before the annual meeting and aired frequently in the week preceding the annual meeting. The election coordinator shall post a sign at the station.  


3/28/06;  06/27/06

  1. Nomination Period

The nomination period is from the first day of the month prior to the annual meeting until the close of the last business day (Monday through Friday) in of the month following the annual meeting.  The election coordinator shall notify all programmers and volunteers in writing and shall post a sign near the studios. 

Attachment II

Mediation Committee policy

[New language is underlined.  Deleted language is lined-out.]

2.4.7.    Mediation Committee and Grievance Panel    Mediation Committee Guidelines and Responsibilities

11/27/07; 05/26/09; 01/24/12; 09/05/17


Membership Of Committee

The committee is composed of five members.  KMUD programmers and volunteers elect two of these seats. The Board of Directors selects and appoints the remaining three seats made up of one Board member, one community member and one person of any category at the Board’s discretion. To be considered a “community member,” a person must not be a KMUD Board member or programmer.  The committee may request that a specific sixth member (of any category) be appointed by the Board. 

Regarding the length of terms for Mediation Committee members: 

Each elected member serves three years. In the event that an one or more of the elected members is no longer able to serve, the Board shall appoint a replacement a special election will be held to replace the member(s). At the end of their three-year term, elected members may run for re-election. The three appointed seats are yearly appointments and will be re-appointed by the Board at the end of each term, or the Board will appoint a replacement member(s).

Attachment III

All Sides Now policy

All Sides Now offers RCR listeners an equivalent to the “Letters to the Editor” feature in newspapers.   They call a dedicated telephone line (707-932-5276) and record their contributions for possible airing.   Commentaries must be no longer than two minutes.  A recorded announcement asks that contributions be done in a way that respects the listening audience.  All Sides Now is aired before and/or after the newscasts at 6:00 pm and 8:00 am.  Commentaries are screened for use of prohibited language and judged as to appropriateness.  There is no guarantee that a particular contribution will be aired or be aired at a particular time.